You mean you actually WANT to read the Bible?

I’m going to level with you here: at some point in the past two months my Bible reading went down the toilet.  I don’t know why, but I just stopped.  It may have been brought on by my “business” or perhaps I just forgot how important it was, but the point is that I let it slip.

Anyway, today I decided that enough was enough!  I had the day off from college because of study leave and I decided to get back into my Bible reading.  I jumped in at Romans – don’t ask me why!  Ordinarily I would have started with something a little more visuBible readingally stimulating – something like Revelation or Daniel – but I started in Romans.

Having started a study in Romans before, I decided to pick up where I left off.  It took me about five verses to be both convicted and inspired.  And then I just sat there thinking “What just happened?!”  So I looked down at my Bible and reread the section I’d read.  It was still as powerful.  I could’ve stopped there.  I could have moved on to other activities.  After all, I had read my Bible, I had been convicted, I had prayed through it… but something stopped me.  I couldn’t leave.  I wanted to read the Bible!

Now, I’ll be the first to admit that Bible-reading is taxing.  For some reason, as soon as I have that book in my hands, I want to sleep!  I can wade through theological books from the 1800s and read the entirety of Gone with the Wind without thinking twice, yet when I try read the Bible, PEW – it’s lights-out.  So imagine my surprise when I realised that I really genuinely and truly wanted to keep reading.

So I did – I kept on reading.  And I soaked it in like a sponge.  I forgot how vital it was!   And as I read, I had something of an epiphany about another matter in my life.

Let me give you a little back-story first… This year I created resolutions (sometime in the middle of the year, ’cause I’m just a rebel like that) and I decided that things were going to change.  Just the normal: losing weight, getting fit, starting a blog… And all was fine and dandy until about a month ago.  That was when it all fell to pieces and I couldn’t figure out why.

But I think I figured it out today!  See, all resolutions require self-discipline, aka, self-control.  Just a little something listed in the fruit of the Spirit.  Funny thing about the Fruit of the Spirit – when you stop listening to the Spirit, stop using your Sword of the Spirit, you can’t really expect to be displaying the fruit of the Spirit.  Could it be that my lack of perseverance had something to do with the fact that I stopped reading my Bible?  My answer: YES!  A great, big, fat, resounding YES!Bible reading2

And all of a sudden, I want to read my Bible again.  And I happen to think that is seriously cool.

 

Leave a Reply

