But why?

One of the funniest things to watch is a curious child with a worn out teacher or babysitter.  Conversations usually go something like this:

“but why?”

“I don’t know.”

“But why?”

“I don’t know!”

“But why?”

“I don’t know!”

(Repeat et nauseam)

Honestly, sometimes I feel like that kid tugging on God’s hand and in a very childish, naive way begging “but why?”  The difference is that God’s answer is not “I don’t know”.  And what a relief that is!  Imagine the God of everything not knowing something!  …I guess He wouldn’t really be God then, huh?

I’m a control freak.  Self-proclaimed, self-diagnosed and self-sufficient control freak.  I don’t like not knowing what’s going on and I certainly don’t like my plans having to change.  Enter God.  My life plan wasn’t just put aside, it was spun around until it was dizzy, then released to stagger about the room before tripping on my goals and falling head first out of a ninety-floor building.  And it was hard!

So now I sit, with no idea where my future is headed and no idea why God redirected me…

But one thing I do know is God knows.  And it’s really annoying that He knows and I don’t, but it’s still comforting to know that there is an overseer for all that goes on.  And as I look back over the years, it’s remarkable how I start to see common threads that lead to where I am now.  It’s fascinating to see how God has directed me.

Granted, the last few years still look confusing, but looking at my whole life gives me a whole lot more hope.  when I tug on God’s hand and ask “but why?” He always has an answer and He always has an explanation.  Sometimes we just need to stop long enough to consider where God took us from and where He’s taking us to.

…and learn some patience.

Leave a Reply

