When waiting is grating

Yeah, I know, it’s a cheesy title, but there it is anyway.

Maybe it’s a human thing, maybe it’s a Jo’burg thing, maybe it’s just a me thing, but I hate waiting.  Every now and then I think I have a handle on patience…and then an annoying human being happens – taxi drivers in peak hour traffic, police road blocks on my way to college or work, people who cut into queues, or worse – people who walk slowly!  Notice the variety of annoying people wasting my time?  Notice the common denominator?  yeah, that’s right, it’s me…

The thing is, as I think about this and type it out I’m realising just how horribly impatient I am – and in a balanced way too.  I get impatient for good things – like getting out of traffic, or graduating – but I’m also impatient for bad things – starting tests, meetings where I know it’s not going to end well…  nothing ever seems to be fast enough for me.

So my question is: how did I get here?waiting

When did I become so irritated by waiting?  When did my pride and my ego grow so big that I stopped deeming the needs of others necessary?

Honestly, it’s scary.  To think that I’ve put myself so high on a pedestal that the world must revolve around me is a disturbing thought – to say the least!  And what’s worse is that until I started to seriously think about it, I was oblivious.  I thought myself blessed to be so intelligent, to have been given a job, to have a car, basically, to be me.  And then somewhere along the line I turned those blessings upside down and instead of them being arrows to the greatness of God, they became arrows pointing at pathetic, insignificant me.

All this from realising that I was sick of wasting time…

There is one last thing that must be considered though.  If I recognise that the signs point the wrong way, how do I turn them back?  Well, I could give you the glib answer and tell you to follow God.  But as true as that is, it’s not exactly practical.  After all, how is that done? Well, here’s my theory:  God made man, man fell, man got mad at God so he got mad at man, God sent his son to restore man to Him, man tries to live for Him, man forgets that man is His creation, man treats others like dirt, man loses track of God.

We (and when I say we, I mean I) need to stop and try to remember that:

You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the great and first commandment. And a second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.

Interesting that loving others is up there with loving God.  I think it’s about time that I start looking at people instead of myself and looking to their needs and time before I rush sanctimoniously past them.

I apologise for this somewhat self-indulgent post, but I think maybe it needed to be said.

Leave a Reply

